Posts

Showing posts from January, 2013

A Tainted Dawn Blog Tour and Review

Image
A Tainted Dawn by B.N. Peacock
review copy provided by author via Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours
Synopsis:
August 1789. The Rights of Man. Liberty. Equality. Idealism. Patriotism. A new age dawns. And yet, old hostilities persist: England and Spain are on the brink of war. France, allied by treaty with Spain, readies her warships. Three youths – the son of an English carpenter, the son of a naval captain, and the son of a French court tailor – meet in London, a chance encounter that entwines their lives ever after. The English boys find themselves on the same frigate bound for the Caribbean. The Frenchman sails to Trinidad, where he meets an even more zealous Spanish revolutionary. As diplomats in Europe race to avoid conflict, war threatens to explode in the Caribbean, with the three youths pitted against each other. Will the dawn of the boys’ young manhood remain bright with hope? Or will it become tainted with their countrymen’s spilled blood?

My Take:

The reader is i…

Crime of Privilege

Image
Crime of Privilege by Walter Walker
Digital galley provided by Random House via NetGalley
Description from Goodreads:
In the tradition of Scott Turow, William Landay, and Nelson DeMille, Crime of Privilege is a stunning thriller about power, corruption, and the law in America—and the dangerous ways they come together.

A murder on Cape Cod. A rape in Palm Beach.

All they have in common is the presence of one of America’s most beloved and influential families. But nobody is asking questions. Not the police. Not the prosecutors. And certainly not George Becket, a young lawyer toiling away in the basement of the Cape & Islands district attorney’s office. George has always lived at the edge of power. He wasn't born to privilege, but he understands how it works and has benefited from it in ways he doesn't like to admit. Now, an investigation brings him deep inside the world of the truly wealthy—and shows him what a perilous place it is.

Years have passed since a young woman…

A Thing Done Blog Tour and Review

Image
A Thing Done by Tinney Sue Heath
review copy provided by author and Fireship Press via Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours
Synopsis:
Florence, 1216: The noble families of Florence hold great power, but they do not share it easily. Tensions simmer just below the surface. When Corrado the Jester's prank-for-hire goes wrong, a brawl erupts between two rival factions. Florence reels on the brink of civil war. One side makes the traditional offer of a marriage to restore peace, but that fragile peace crumbles under the pressure of a woman's interference, an unforgivable insult, and an outraged cry for revenge.


Corrado is pressed into unwilling service as messenger by both sides. Sworn to secrecy, he watches in horror as the headstrong knight Buondelmonte violates every code of honor to possess the woman he wants, while another woman, rejected and enraged, schemes to destroy him.

Corrado already knows too much for his own safety. Will Buondelmonte's reckless act…

The House of Velvet and Glass

Image
The House of Velvet and Glass by Katherine Howe
borrowed from the public library
Description from Goodreads:
Katherine Howe, author of the phenomenal New York Times bestseller The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane, returns with an entrancing historical novel set in Boston in 1915, where a young woman stands on the cusp of a new century, torn between loss and love, driven to seek answers in the depths of a crystal ball.

Still reeling from the deaths of her mother and sister on the Titanic, Sibyl Allston is living a life of quiet desperation with her taciturn father and scandal-plagued brother in an elegant town house in Boston’s Back Bay. Trapped in a world over which she has no control, Sibyl flees for solace to the parlor of a table-turning medium.

But when her brother is suddenly kicked out of Harvard under mysterious circumstances and falls under the sway of a strange young woman, Sibyl turns for help to psychology professor Benton Derby, despite the unspoken tensions of their…

Delirium

Image
Delirium by Lauren Oliver
kindle book purchased from Amazon
Description from author website:
They didn't understand that once love -- the deliria -- blooms in your blood, there is no escaping its hold. Things are different now. Scientists are able to eradicate love, and the government demands that all citizens receive the cure upon turning eighteen. Lena Holoway has always looked forward to the day when she’ll be cured. A life without love is a life without pain: safe, measured, predictable, and happy.

But with ninety-five days left until her treatment, Lena does the unthinkable: She falls in love.

My Take:
I found the premise for this book to be quite interesting and I have read so many rave reviews that I decided to give it a shot. I thought the story was pretty well told and I did enjoy the explanation for how the idea of love being a disease was developed and how it took over became the prevalent idea held by most people. I found the love story to be okay, but that wasn…

The Blood Gospel

Image
The Blood Gospel by James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell
review copy provided by William Morrow
Description from Goodreads:
An earthquake in Masada, Israel, kills hundreds and reveals a tomb buried in the heart of the mountain. A trio of investigators—Sergeant Jordan Stone, a military forensic expert; Father Rhun Korza, a Vatican priest; and Dr. Erin Granger, a brilliant but disillusioned archaeologist—are sent to explore the macabre discovery, a subterranean temple holding the crucified body of a mummified girl.

But a brutal attack at the site sets the three on the run, thrusting them into a race to recover what was once preserved in the tomb’s sarcophagus: a book rumored to have been written by Christ’s own hand, a tome that is said to hold the secrets to His divinity. But the enemy who hounds them is like no other, a force of ancient evil directed by a leader of impossible ambitions and incalculable cunning.

From crumbling tombs to splendorous churches, Erin and her two compa…

Metro 2033

Image
Metro 2033 by Dmitry Glukhovsky
purchased from The Book Depository
Description from Goodreads:
The year is 2033. The world has been reduced to rubble. Humanity is nearly extinct. The half-destroyed cities have become uninhabitable through radiation. Beyond their boundaries, they say, lie endless burned-out deserts and the remains of splintered forests. Survivors still remember the past greatness of humankind. But the last remains of civilisation have already become a distant memory, the stuff of myth and legend. More than 20 years have passed since the last plane took off from the earth. Rusted railways lead into emptiness. The ether is void and the airwaves echo to a soulless howling where previously the frequencies were full of news from Tokyo, New York, Buenos Aires. Man has handed over stewardship of the earth to new life-forms. Mutated by radiation, they are better adapted to the new world. Man's time is over. A few score thousand survivors live on, not knowing whet…

Historical Fiction Reading Challenge 2013

Image
Okay, I just couldn't resist. I have been reading so many historical fiction novels lately that it seems silly not to sign up for this challenge too. This challenge is hosted by Historical Tapestry and you can find all the details here. Thanks to Historical Tapestry, I found several upcoming books to add to my TBR list. You should check out their post on 2013's Most Anticipated New Releases.

Updated: Historical Fiction reviews posted
1. The House of Velvet and Glass
2. A Thing Done
3. Thwarted Queen
4. The Waste Land
5. The Bruges Tapestry
6. Rocamora
7. The Chalice
8. The Fifth Knight
9. The Queen's Vow
10. Gracianna
11. The Queen's Rivals
12. Colossus: The Four Emperors
13. Queen's Gambit
14. The Tudor Conspiracy

Final update for 2013: I am sure there are a few more historical fiction books that I never posted to the challenge page, so I will grant myself one more to make the Medieval Reader level for 2013. I will strive to better at updating for 2014.

Dystopia Reading Challenge 2013

Image
Okay, one more challenge. No, really, just one more. I absolutely love dystopian fiction and any excuse to read more is great as far as I'm concerned. This challenge is hosted by Blog of Erised and you can find all the details here.

Books read:
1. Metro 2033 by Dmitry Glukhovsky
2. Delirium by Lauren Oliver

100 Books in a Year Reading Challenge 2013

Image
Yes, I'm going to attempt this massive challenge hosted by Book Chick City. I probably won't review all the books I read, but I will try to review most of them.  You can find details here if you are interested in this challenge too.

The Lady and Her Monsters

Image
The Lady and Her Monsters by Roseanne Montillo
review copy provided by William Morrow
Description from Goodreads:
The macabre meets art in this startling blend of grotesque nineteenth-century science and fascinating literary creation that examines the actual Victor Frankenstein's and the real-life horrors behind Mary Shelley's gothic masterpiece, Frankenstein

A highly entertaining blend of literary analysis, lore, and scientific history, told with the verve and ghoulish fun of a Tim Burton film, The Lady and Her Monsters traces the origins of the greatest horror story of all time-Mary Shelley's Frankenstein-using the novel as a centerpiece from which to explore the frightful milieu in which it was written. Roseanne Montillo recounts how Shelley's Victor Frankenstein mirrored actual scientists of the period-curious and daring iconoclasts, influenced by their predecessors in the scientific age, who were obsessed with the inner workings of the human body and how …