Posts

Showing posts from May, 2013

Black Venus Blog Tour and Review

Image
Black Venus by James MacManus Review copy provided Thomas Dunne Books via Meryl L. Moss Media Relations, Inc. in exchange for a fair and honest review Synopsis:


Baudelaire’s fortunes rose and fell under the influence of his Venus Noir Addictive as opium the voluptuous Haitian cabaret singer Jeanne Duval tortured and inspired Charles Baudelaire to create poetry that would forever change the world of literature. Their love played out against the backdrop of 19th-century Paris in the Left Bank cafes and taverns frequented by such giants as Édouard Manet, Honoré de Balzac and Alexandre Dumas.  Reviled by Baudelaire’s family, friends and publisher, Duval was Baudelaire’s muse, leading him to create the poetry whose dark and passionate imagery forever changed and influenced modern literature.
Baudelaire was squandering his small fortune on alcohol and women when he met Duval, who he called Black Venus and claimed as his mistress. Their fiery relationship became the catalyst for his work—witho…

Armchair BEA Introduction

Image
Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging?  I'm a homeschooling mom. I have an English degree with a minor in history. Needless to say, I'm a book nerd - always have been. I have been blogging for three years. I got into blogging because I love to read and talk about the books I read. 
2.Where in the world are you blogging from? Tell a random fact or something special about your current location. Feel free to share pictures.  I am blogging from Wisconsin. Random fact about Wisconsin. . . . Patrick Rothfuss is fromWisconsin and he is one of my favorite authors -- his signings are so much fun too.
3. What are you currently reading, or what is your favorite book you have read so far in 2013?  I am currently reading Spartacus: Rebellion, Royal Mistress and The Next Time You See Me
4. If you could eat dinner with any author or character, who would it be and why?
This is a difficult question because t…

I've been doing this for three years?

Image
I can't quite believe that I've been working on this little blog for three years now. Time sure flies when you are reading like crazy and homeschooling three kids. The last three years have flown by, in no small part, due to all the reading and reviewing I have been doing. I have been participating in blog tours for about a year now and I am really enjoying that aspect of book blogging. I hope to continue working on my little blog and enjoying every minute of it.

Here's to the next three years.

~ABookGeek

Pepperland Blog Tour and Review

Image
Pepperland by Barry Wightman
review copy provided by publisher via JKSCommunications in return for a fair and honest review
Book synopsis:

What happens when one revolution dies and a new one begins?
Think the Ramones meet Jane Fonda meets Bill Gates—a love story—where one woman has all the power.
She asks him—do you want to play your little rock ‘n roll songs or change the world? He says—both.
Pepperland is a ‘70s rock and roll race through the heartland of America—a love letter to the power of new-fangled computers and the importance of a guitar pick. Pepperland is about missing information, missing people, missing guitars, paranoia, Q & A, brothers, revolution, Agents of the Federal Government, IBM, Hugh Hefner, a Dark Stranger, love, death and the search for it amidst the wreckage of recession-wracked, entropically rundown mid-seventies America.

My Take:
Pepperland by Barry Wightman is an unusual, funny, nerdy, musical, trippy, wild, roller coaster ride of a book. I've n…

Cascade Blog Tour and Review

Image
Cascade by Maryanne O'Hara
Digital book provided by publisher through NetGalley via Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours in exchange for a fair review
Synopsis:

During the 1930s in a small town fighting for its survival, a conflicted new wife seeks to reconcile her artistic ambitions with the binding promises she has made.
Fans of Richard Russo, Amor Towles, Sebastian Barry, and Paula McLain will devour this transporting novel about the eternal tug between our duties and our desires, set during in New York City and New England during the Depression and New Deal eras.
It’s 1935, and Desdemona Hart Spaulding has sacrificed her plans to work as an artist in New York to care for her bankrupt, ailing father in Cascade, Massachusetts. When he dies, Dez finds herself caught in a marriage of convenience, bound to the promise she made to save her father’s Shakespeare Theater, even as her town may be flooded to create a reservoir for Boston. When she falls for artist Jacob Solomon,…

Never Tell Blog Tour and Review

Image
Never Tell by Alafair Burke
Review copy provided by Harper via TLC Book Tours in exchange for this review
Synopsis:

Even a perfect family has its secrets.

Sixteen-year-old Julia Whitmire appeared to have everything: a famous father, a luxurious Manhattan town house, a coveted spot at the elite Casden prep school. When she is found dead in her bathtub, a handwritten suicide note left on her bed, her parents insist that their daughter would never take her own life. But Julia’s enviable world was more complicated than it seemed. The pressure to excel at Casden was enormous. Abuse of prescription drugs ran rampant among students. And a search of Julia’s computer reveals that she’d been engaged in a dangerous game of cyberbullying against an unlikely victim.

NYPD detective Ellie Hatcher is convinced the case is a suicide, but she knows from personal experience that a loving family can be the last to accept the truth. As she is pressured to pursue a case she doesn’t believe in, she…

All the Summer Girls

Image
All the Summer Girls by Meg Donohue
ARC provided by William Morrow in exchange for a fair review
Description from Goodreads:

In Philadelphia, good girl Kate is dumped by her fiance the day she learns she is pregnant with his child. In New York City, beautiful stay-at-home mom Vanessa is obsessively searching the Internet for news of an old flame. And in San Francisco, Dani, the aspiring writer who can't seem to put down a book--or a cocktail--long enough to open her laptop, has just been fired...again.

In an effort to regroup, Kate, Vanessa, and Dani retreat to the New Jersey beach town where they once spent their summers. Emboldened by the seductive cadences of the shore, the women being to realize how much their lives, and friendships, have been shaped by the choices they made one fateful night on the beach eight years earlier--and the secrets that only now threaten to surface.

My Take:
All the Summer Girls is pretty much a perfect beach read. The is a story about three bes…

Nowhere but Home

Image
Nowhere but Home by Liza Palmer
review copy provided by William Morrow
Description from Goodreads:
Queenie Wake, a country girl from North Star, Texas, has just been fired from her job as a chef for not allowing a customer to use ketchup. Again. Now the only place she has to go is home to North Star. She can hope, maybe things will be different. Maybe her family's reputation as those Wake women will have been forgotten. It's been years since her mother-notorious for stealing your man, your car, and your rent money-was killed. And her sister, who as a teenager was branded as a gold-digging harlot after having a baby with local golden boy Wes McKay, is now the mother of the captain of the high school football team. It can't be that bad…

Who knew that people in small town Texas had such long memories? And of course Queenie wishes that her memory were a little spottier when feelings for her high school love, Everett Coburn, resurface. He broke her heart and made her l…

Waiting on Wednesday (12)

Image
"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

I don't always participate in WoW, but when I do, it is for a book I am especially anxious about reading. I am so looking forward to finally reading the third book in the Goblin Wars trilogy by Kersten Hamilton.







When the Stars Threw Down Their Spears (Goblin Wars #3)
Kersten Hamilton
Clarion Books
Publication Date: July 10
People will die.”

Locked doors are opening, and uncanny creatures are tumbling through mysterious portals from Mag Mell, the world-between-worlds, into the streets of Chicago. The Dark Man has marked Aiden with a new song that’s scared him badly, and a frightening new group of sídhe is lurking nearby.

Teagan knows this is war, and she must protect her family. She leaves her flesh and bones behind to join Finn in hunting the evil beings across the city. Meanwhile, their relationship is heating up—almost faster …