Posts

Showing posts from July, 2015

Newport Blog Tour and Review

Image
Newport by Jill Morrow
Paperback:384 pages
Publisher:William Morrow Paperbacks (July 7, 2015)
Source: Publisher via TLC Book Tours for an honest review

Description:
In a glamorous Newport mansion filled with secrets, a debonair lawyer must separate truth from deception. . . .
Spring 1921. The Great War is over, Prohibition is in full swing, the Great Depression is still years away. Wealthy families flock to the glittering "summer cottages" they built in Newport, Rhode Island.
Having sheltered in Newport during his misspent youth, attorney Adrian de la Noye is no stranger to the city. Though he'd prefer to forget the place, he returns to revise the will of a well-heeled client. Bennett Chapman's offspring have the usual concerns about their father's much-younger fiancée. But when they learn of the old widower's firm belief that his late first wife, who "communicates" via séance, has chosen the stunning Catharine Walsh for him, they're shocked. And fo…

The Medici Boy Review

Image
The Medici Boy by John L'Heureux
Publication date: April 1, 2014 by Astor + Blue
Genre: Historical Fiction
Source: Publisher for an honest review
Description:

The worlds of art, politics and passion collide in John L’Heureux’s masterful new novel, The Medici Boy. With rich composition, L’Heureux ingeniously transports the reader to Donatello’s Renaissance Italy—directly into his bottega, (workshop), as witnessed through the eyes of Luca Mattei, a devoted assistant. While creating his famous bronze of David and Goliath, Donatello’s passion for his enormously beautiful model and part time rent boy, Agnolo, ignites a dangerous jealousy that ultimately leads to Agnolo’s brutal murder. Luca, the complex and conflicted assistant, will sacrifice all to save the life of Donatello, even if it means the life of the master sculptor’s friend and great patron of art, Cosimo de’ Medici. John L’Heureux’s long-awaited novel delivers both a monumental and intimate narrative of the creative genius, Dona…

Killing Secrets Blog Tour and Review

Image
Killing Secrets by Dianne Emley
Publication date: July 21, 2015 by Alibi
Pages: 277
Format:Ebook
Genre: Mystery
Source: Publisher via TLC Book Tours for an honest review  (Netgalley)

Description:
For fans of Patricia Cornwell, Tana French, and Lisa Gardner comes a razor-sharp novel of suspense featuring Detective Nan Vining—a single mother whose worlds collide when her teenage daughter stumbles upon a grisly double homicide. When she gets the call, Nan Vining responds as a mother first and a detective second. Her daughter, Emily, has made a gruesome discovery in a secluded section of a Pasadena park: a pretty, popular young teacher from Emily’s high school and a bright yet troubled transfer student—both dead and bloody in a copse of trees. But the crime scene isn’t the only thing that seems off to Detective Vining. There’s also the cocky classmate who was with Emily in the park—the boyfriend she never knew about. What else doesn’t she know about her daughter? As she attempts to channel both he…

Alchemy's Daughter Blog Tour and Giveaway

Image
Alchemy's Daughter by Mary A. Osborne
Publication date: May 15, 2015 by Lake Street Press
Genre: Historical Fiction/ Young Adult
Pages: 280
Source: Publisher via Italy Book Tours


Description:

Santina Pietra is seventeen and in medieval San Gimignano, daughters of merchants are expected to marry. But Santina cares only for Calandrino, a brilliant young scholar who is preoccupied with his ancient alchemical texts. 

Soon Santina meets Trotula, the village midwife, who might or might not be a strega, or witch. Trotula challenges her to forget Calandrino and become the woman she is meant to be. Some say she is a victim of the midwife’s spell, but Santina is determined to follow in Trotula’s footsteps even as calamities strike.

The setting is 14th century Italy, yet in Santina contemporary readers will discover a strong-minded young woman whose search for meaning echoes their own. Alchemy’s Daughter is the author’s second novel.

My Take:

I love to read books about midwives and healers, so I was e…

Maud's Line Blog Tour and Review

Image
Please join Margaret Verble as she tours with HF Virtual Book Tours for Maud's Line, from July 13-24. 


Publication Date: July 14, 2015 Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 
Formats: eBook, Hardcover 
ISBN-10: 0544470192 
Pages: 304 
Genre: Historical Fiction




 A debut novel chronicling the life and loves of a headstrong, earthy, and magnetic heroine

Eastern Oklahoma, 1928. Eighteen-year-old Maud Nail lives with her rogue father and sensitive brother on one of the allotments parceled out by the U.S. Government to the Cherokees when their land was confiscated for Oklahoma's statehood. Maud's days are filled with hard work and simple pleasures, but often marked by violence and tragedy, a fact that she accepts with determined practicality. Her prospects for a better life are slim, but when a newcomer with good looks and books rides down her section line, she takes notice. Soon she finds herself facing a series of high-stakes decisions that will determine her future and those of her loved ones.

An Immortal Descent Release Day Blitz

Image
ABookGeek is very excited to participate in the Release Day Blitz for Kari Edgren's third book in the Goddess Born series, An Immortal Descent!




Publication Date: July 6, 2015 
Publisher: Carina Press 
eBook; ASIN: B00XCYM8XS 
Series: Goddess Born, Book Three 
Genre: Historical/Fantasy/Romance





As a goddess-born healer, Selah Kilbrid wants nothing to do with the goddess of death and disease, nor any of her human progeny. But when the two people she loves most disappear - her dearest friend Nora Goodwin and her betrothed Lord Henry Fitzalan - Selah has no choice but to leave London in pursuit of Death's most powerful daughter.

Accompanied by a ragtag group of travelers, Selah follows a treacherous path across the Irish Sea to the long-forgotten prison of a witch who once nearly destroyed Ireland. Selah would face any danger to protect those she loves, but what if it means unleashing a greater evil on the human world? Could she risk the lives of many to save a few, or are some sacrific…