Thursday, July 23, 2015

Killing Secrets Blog Tour and Review

Killing Secrets by Dianne Emley
Publication date: July 21, 2015 by Alibi
Pages: 277
Format:Ebook
Genre: Mystery
Source: Publisher via TLC Book Tours for an honest review  (Netgalley)

Description:
For fans of Patricia Cornwell, Tana French, and Lisa Gardner comes a razor-sharp novel of suspense featuring Detective Nan Vining—a single mother whose worlds collide when her teenage daughter stumbles upon a grisly double homicide.
When she gets the call, Nan Vining responds as a mother first and a detective second. Her daughter, Emily, has made a gruesome discovery in a secluded section of a Pasadena park: a pretty, popular young teacher from Emily’s high school and a bright yet troubled transfer student—both dead and bloody in a copse of trees. But the crime scene isn’t the only thing that seems off to Detective Vining. There’s also the cocky classmate who was with Emily in the park—the boyfriend she never knew about. What else doesn’t she know about her daughter?
As she attempts to channel both her maternal and investigative instincts into one single point of focus, Vining’s superiors at the Pasadena Police Department are moving at lightning speed. Before the evidence has even been processed, the case is closed as a clear-cut murder/suicide: a disturbed teenager murders his teacher, then takes his own life. Vining doesn’t buy it. Now she’s chasing dangerous, powerful people with secrets they would kill for—and taking them down means risking her own flesh and blood.

My Take:

Unfortunately I haven't read any other books by Dianne Emley, and I am seriously wondering why that is the case. I will certainly be seeking out the other Nan Vining novels as soon as I can. Killing Secrets was a fast-paced, breath-holding mystery novel with an intelligent, independent heroine who doesn't need a man to rescue her or solve the case for her. 

Barely a full page into the novel, and I was hooked. I was immediately intrigued by several things - who killed the teacher and student, why where they killed and what was going on with Nan's daughter? As a parent to two teens and a twenty year old, I am always interested in how parent/teen relationships are portrayed in novels. I liked that there were family things that had to be addressed alongside the work that Nan does. I am also intrigued by the hints of her past and I am looking forward to reading the previous novels since she seems to have quite the interesting and difficult life.

Killing Secrets was a fast read -- the pacing is great and I couldn't put the book down until I had finished the last page.. There is a lot going on and I was fascinated at how Nan went about solving the case despite the fact that her superiors have quickly closed the case. I was happy to see that instead of the guy being the one prepared for anything and ready to take off at a moment's notice to follow through on the investigation, it was Nan who was the one with her bag packed and a plan in place.

I would strongly recommend Killing Secrets to anyone who likes a good mystery/crime novel - especially one with a strong, intelligent female lead character. I look forward to reading more Nan Vining novels in the near future.



Praise for the novels of Dianne Emley
The Night Visitor grabbed my attention on page one and never let up. It’s a creepy, crafty thrill ride, and I enjoyed every word. I’ll be looking for more of Dianne Emley’s books.”—Karen Robards
“A taut, gripping paranormal thriller from page one. You won’t be able to put this book down as Rory—a woman who has everything—fears all she believes is a lie. Excellent!”—Allison Brennan, on The Night Visitor
“Emley masterfully twists, turns, and shocks.”—Tess Gerritsen, on Love Kills

Add to Goodreads badge


Purchase Links

Amazon | Books-A-Million | Barnes & Noble




68935About Dianne Emley

Dianne Emley is the bestselling author of The Night Visitor and the Nan Vining series: The First Cut, Cut to the Quick, The Deepest Cut, and Love Kills. A Los Angeles native, she lives in the Central California wine country with her husband, Charlie.

Connect with Dianne

Website | Facebook | Twitter


Dianne Emley’s TLC Book Tours TOUR STOPS:

Monday, July 20th: I Wish I Lived in a Library
Tuesday, July 21st: Bell, Book & Candle
Wednesday, July 22nd: Buried Under Books
Thursday, July 23rd: A Book Geek
Thursday, July 23rd: Open Book Society
Monday, July 27th: Book Babe
Tuesday, July 28th: Kay’s Reading Life
Wednesday, July 29th: FictionZeal
Monday, August 3rd: From the TBR Pile
Tuesday, August 4th: Bewitched Bookworms
Thursday, August 6th: The Novel Life
Monday, August 10th: Peeking Between the Pages
Wednesday, August 12th: Patricia’s Wisdom
Thursday, August 13th: Bibliotica





2 comments:

  1. Thank you for your thoughtful review of Killing Secrets! I'm happy that you enjoyed it and that you've discovered the others in the Nan Vining series.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I always love a tough, independent heroine to root for!

    Thanks for being a part of the tour!

    ReplyDelete