Posts

Showing posts from 2018

Review: Sharp & Sugar Tooth: Women Up to No Good

Image
Sharp & Sugar Tooth (Women Up to No Good #3)
Edited by Octavia Cade
Publisher:Upper Rubber Boot Books
Publication date: March 26, 2019
Source: Publisher for an honest review

Description:

Sharp & Sugar Tooth: Women Up To No Good is a horror anthology of dark fiction and darker appetites, edited by Octavia Cade. Containing 22 stories of “bad” women, and “good” women who just haven’t been caught yet, it features 22 fearless writers who identify as female, non-binary, or a marginalized sex or gender identity. It’s the third in the Women Up To No Good series, and is forthcoming at the end of 2018.
My Take:
When I was offered the opportunity to read and review this anthology, I was quite excited by the premise of the collection of short stories. There are twenty-two stories in this collection and they each made an impression on me. I tried to list my favorites and the list ended up including most of the stories - for varying reasons. The stories include dark fairy tales, horror, sci-fi, fa…

The King's Justice Blog Tour and Review

Image
The King's Justice by E.M Powell Publication Date: June 1, 2018 Thomas & Mercer Paperback & eBook; 288 Pages ISBN-978-1542046015 Series: Stanton and Barling #1 Genre: Historical Mystery



A murder that defies logic—and a killer on the loose.

England, 1176. Aelred Barling, esteemed clerk to the justices of King Henry II, is dispatched from the royal court with his young assistant, Hugo Stanton, to investigate a brutal murder in a village outside York.

The case appears straightforward. A suspect is under lock and key in the local prison, and the angry villagers are demanding swift justice. But when more bodies are discovered, certainty turns to doubt—and amid the chaos it becomes clear that nobody is above suspicion.

Facing growing unrest in the village and the fury of the lord of the manor, Stanton and Barling find themselves drawn into a mystery that defies logic, pursuing a killer who evades capture at every turn.

Can they solve the riddle of who is preying upon the villag…

Vox

Image
Vox by Christina Dalcher Publisher: Berkeley Publication date: August 21, 2018 Source: Publisher for an honest review

Description: Set in an America where half the population has been silenced, VOX is the harrowing, unforgettable story of what one woman will do to protect herself and her daughter.

On the day the government decrees that women are no longer allowed more than 100 words daily, Dr. Jean McClellan is in denial--this can't happen here. Not in America. Not to her.

This is just the beginning.

Soon women can no longer hold jobs. Girls are no longer taught to read or write. Females no longer have a voice. Before, the average person spoke sixteen thousand words a day, but now women only have one hundred to make themselves heard.

But this is not the end. 

For herself, her daughter, and every woman silenced, Jean will reclaim her voice.
My Take:
Anyone who knows me knows I love a good dystopian story - short story, novel, movie - you name it.  Fortunately for me, VOX really hit that …

Athena: The Warrior Queen of Yavdolo - Spotlight

Image
Athena: The Warrior Queen of Yavdolo by Helen R. Davis Publication Date: May 17, 2017  Christian Faith Publishing, Inc. eBook; 140 Pages  ASIN: B0716ZV4H5

Damlol is a planet located outside the reaches of Earth and the solar system, a peaceful world from which many colonists from Earth left centuries ago, fleeing a worldwide caliphate. But all is not as it seems. Athena, the princess of a country known as Yavdolo, is growing up in a turbulent time. The kingdom of Avodla desires to crush all other nations and cover the world in an oppressive dictatorship—similar to the one the colonists fled from so many centuries ago. This is the story of a girl of great courage and her many adventures, the first in a series.
"Fantasy and science fiction lovers will fall in love with Athena, rooting for her until the very end. In this, Helen R. Davis, like fantasy giants, has created a new world full of wonders and mystique which will leave you have stepped into another realm that by the end of i…

Nancy Bilyeau's The Blue - Cover Reveal

Image
The Blue by Nancy Bilyeau Publication: Fall 2018 Endeavour Quill Genre: Historical Fiction What would you do to possess the most coveted color in the world? The year is 1758, and a headstrong woman artist, 24-year-old Genevieve Planche, is caught up in a high-stakes race to discover the ultimate color, one that threatens to become as deadly as it is lucrative. When Genevieve's mission is complicated by her falling in love with the chemist behind the formula, she discovers the world of blue is filled with ruthless men and women and how high the stakes really are. The story sweeps readers from the worlds of the silk-weaving refugees of London’s Spitalfields and the luxury-obsessed drawing rooms of Grosvenor Square to the porcelain factory of Derby and, finally, magnificent Sevres Porcelain in the shadow of Versailles. And running through it all: the dangerous allure of the color blue.

"Bilyeau’s sumptuous tale of mystery and intrigue transports the reader into the heart of th…

Eyes Don't Lie - Spotlight Tour post

Image
Book Details:

Book Title: Eyes Don't Lie: You Can't Hide by Crystal Dawn Mason
Category: Adult Fiction, 142 pages
Genre: Suspense / Thriller
Publisher: self-published
Release date: Oct 11, 2017
Tour dates: April 30 to May 18, 2018
Content Rating: PG

Book Description:

Curly-haired brunettes with blue eyes are the only women that seem to capture Keith’s attention. But is it really their appearance that attracts him or something sinister? Keith, a broken soul, who’s battling between good and evil, goes about his days trying to fight his evil urges. But because of a demonic stronghold, in most instances good loses the battle to evil.

Affected by the pain and hurt of his childhood, he now seeks out the love he didn’t receive as a child. But when he doesn’t get it, there’s retribution to pay…and what a sad day it is for those curly-haired brunettes with blue eyes who fail to make the mark. But things take a turn when he meets a grocery store cashier who has the ability to see evil th…

My Oxford Year - review and blog tour

Image
My Oxford Year by Julia Whelan
Publication date: April 24, 2018
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Source: Publisher for an honest review

Description:


American Ella Durran has had the same plan for her life since she was thirteen: Study at Oxford. At 24, she’s finally made it to England on a Rhodes Scholarship when she’s offered an unbelievable position in a rising political star’s presidential campaign. With the promise that she’ll work remotely and return to DC at the end of her Oxford year, she’s free to enjoy her Once in a Lifetime Experience. That is, until a smart-mouthed local who is too quick with his tongue and his car ruins her shirt and her first day. When Ella discovers that her English literature course will be taught by none other than that same local, Jamie Davenport, she thinks for the first time that Oxford might not be all she’s envisioned. But a late-night drink reveals a connection she wasn’t anticipating finding and what begins as a casual fling soon develops into s…

Madam of My Heart Blog Tour - Spotlight

Image
Madam of My Heart by Gini Grossenbacher Publication Date: February 6, 2017 eBook & Paperback; 476 Pages ISBN-13: 978-0998380605 Series: American Madams, #1 Genre: Historical Fiction/Victorian



Baltimore, 1849. During a scandalous crisis, the young Irish Brianna Baird flees her home at Fells Point. With little cash and only a seamstress's trade, she braves the hypnotic streets of New Orleans. The tantalizing Madam DeSalle lures her to her brothel, then sells her to the dashing but questionable gambler, Edward Spina, who falls in love with her. In a tawdry alliance with these two profiteers, Brianna embarks on a journey through the French Quarter's debauched and glittering Voodoo world. Facing the horrors of slavery, she triumphs by gaining freedom papers for her maid Emma's enslaved husband and son. Brianna and Edward escape with them to San Francisco. There she becomes one of the most sought after madams in the gold rush parlor house trade. But will her fame and pluck …

The Italian Party review

Image
The Italian Party by Christina Lynch
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication date: March 20, 2018
Source: Publisher for an honest review
Genre: Historical Fiction

Description:


A delicious and sharply funny page-turner about "innocent" Americans abroad in 1950s Siena, Italy. Newly married, Scottie and Michael are seduced by Tuscany's famous beauty. But the secrets they are keeping from each other force them beneath the splendid surface to a more complex view of ltaly, America and each other.
When Scottie's Italian teacher--a teenager with secrets of his own--disappears, her search for him leads her to discover other, darker truths about herself, her husband and her country. Michael's dedication to saving the world from communism crumbles as he begins to see that he is a pawn in a much different game. Driven apart by lies, Michael and Scottie must find their way through a maze of history, memory, hate and love to a new kind of complicated truth.
Half glamorous fun…

She Regrets Nothing Blog Tour and Review

Image
She Regrets Nothing by Andrea Dunlop
Publisher: Atria Books
Publication date: February 6, 2018
Source: Publisher for an honest review



Description:
In the tradition of The Emperor’s Children and The House of Mirth,the forgotten granddaughter of one of New York’s wealthiest men is reunited with her family just as she comes of age—and once she’s had a glimpse of their glittering world, she refuses to let it go without a fight.
When Laila Lawrence becomes an orphan at twenty-three, the sudden loss unexpectedly introduces her to three glamorous cousins from New York who show up unannounced at her mother’s funeral. The three siblings are scions of the wealthy family from which Laila’s father had been estranged long before his own untimely demise ten years before.
Two years later, Laila has left behind her quiet life in Grosse Point, Michigan to move to New York City, landing her smack in the middle of her cousins’ decadent world. As the truth about why Laila’s parents became estranged from the …